Nine judges of the High Court took the oath


Staff Reporter: Nine permanent judges of the Supreme Court have been sworn in.

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oath of office to them at the Judges Lounge of the Supreme Court at 11 am on Tuesday.

The government on Monday issued a circular appointing nine judges who were appointed as additional two years ago. It is said that the appointment will be effective from the day of swearing-in.

They are- Justice Muhammad Mahbub-ul Islam, Justice Shahed Nuruddin, Justice Md. Zakir Hossain, Justice. Akhtaruzzaman, Justice. Mahmud Hasan Talukder, Justice Kazi Ibadat Hossain, Justice KM Zahid Sarwar, Justice AKM Zahirul Haque and Justice Kazi Jinat Haque.

They were appointed as additional judges on October 21, 2019.

With these nine, the number of permanent judges in the High Court Division stood at 91.

There are 5 judges in the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court including the Chief Justice.

Earlier, on May 30, 2016, 18 additional judges were appointed in the High Court. Later on May 29 last year they got a permanent appointments.

The swearing-in ceremony of nine judges was conducted by the Registrar General of the Supreme Court. Ali Akbar. Supreme Court officials were present on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here